ICC CWCL2 Preview: Nepal vs Oman


Hosts Nepal are all set to start the tournament on a higher note, winning the visiting sides Oman in their first match of the ICC Cricket World Cup League Two (CWCL2) in TU Ground Kathmandu. Nepal, led by captain Gyanendra Malla will be backed by thousands of spectators at home which will definitely boost confidence and morale of the national team.
Whilst, the guests Oman will be eyeing to surprise Nepal once again, as they have been doing this against the hosts for last 7 years on a 50 over format. Zeeshan Maqsood’s Oman side are high on confidence after securing qualification for the T20 World Cup at the back end of 2019. Oman has an unchanged squad from previous tournament where they won the UAE and lost to Namibia in January. The other two matches were abandoned due to the tragic death of their head of state, Sultan Qaboos Bin Ahmed who ruled nearly 50 years for Oman. Oman stands fourth on the table with 8 points off 8 matches they have played whereas it’s going to be the first ODI of the CWCL2 cycle for the welcoming sides. Oman has beaten PNG twice, and have stunned Scotland by 8 wickets prior to their January fixtures of ICC CWCL2.
It was in 2013, Nepal’s senior side won Oman sides in a fifty over format in ICC World Cricket League Division III. Later to 2013, Nepal has played four 50 over matches against Oman and has lost all of them against Oman. It’s been nearly 7 years Nepal has not beaten the “Red Brigades” in One Day format of the game.

However, it won’t be easy for the visitors to beat Nepal in their home ground with the likes of star performers Sandeep Lamichhane and Paras Khadka at the home sides.

NEPAL Squad: Gyanendra Malla (captain), Dipendra Singh Airee (vice-captain), Paras Khadka, Sandeep Lamichhane, Karan KC, Md. Aarif Sheikh, Binod Bhandari, Avinash Bohara, Kushal Malla, Kamal Singh Airee, Sushan Bhari, Rohit Kumar Paudel, Sharad Vesawkar, Lalit Narayan Rajbanshi

OMAN Squad: Zeeshan Maqsood (captain), Aqib Ilyas (vice-captain), Jatinder Singh, Khawar Ali, Sanuth Ebrahim, Suraj Kumar, Muhammed Naseem, Sandeep Goud, Muhammed Nadeem, Jay Odedra, Baadal Singh, Ahmed Fayyaz Butt, Kaleemullah, Bilal Khan, Amir Kaleem, Khurram Nawaz Khan, Gopendra Bohara, Ajay Lalcheta

5th February 2020

Tribhuvan University Ground, Kirtipur, Kathmandu
Live on Kantipur Television

Head to Head in 50 over format
Nepal 3, Oman 4
(Nepal has not won Oman since 2013 in 50 over format of the game)

ACC Trophy, July 2002
Nepal – 153/9 in 50 overs
Oman – 48/10 in 35.3
Nepal won the match by 105 runs

ACC Trophy Elite, April 2010
Oman – 169/9 in 50 overs
Nepal – 172/4 in 38.3 overs
Nepal won the match by 6 wickets

ICC World Cricket League Division III – May 2013

Nepal – 160/9 in 50 overs
Oman – 132/10 in 46.4 overs
Nepal won the match by 28 runs

ACC Premier League – May 2014
Nepal – 157/10 in 45 overs
Oman – 161/8 in 47.5 overs
Nepal lost the match by 2 wickets

Nepal’s tour to UAE – Nov 2015
Nepal – 184/10 in 49.3 overs
Oman – 187/7 in 48.1 overs
Nepal lost the match by 3 wickets

ICC World Cricket League Division Two, Feb 2018
Nepal- 138 all out, 46 overs
Oman- 139-4, 35.1 overs
Nepal lost the match by six wickets

ACC Asia Cup Qualifier, August 2018
Nepal 221/9 at 50 ov
Oman 224/3 at 48 ov
Nepal lost the match by 7 wickets

Sandeep Lamichhane(Nepal)
Bilal Khan (Oman)
Paras Khadka (Nepal)
Aqib Ilyas (Oman)


About Author

Also known as Thejuly23rd in social media, Dipesh has a computer engineering background and has interests in technologies and sports.

Comments are closed.